Header Announcement
OZDive Show & OZTek Advanced Diving Conference : October 1-2, 2022 at the MCEC
Header Menu Social

OZTek Awards


Celebrating the achievements and accomplishments of Australia's leading Divers and Dive Industry personnel - people who have helped push back the boundaries of knowledge and exploration, and whose efforts lead to the development and use of new diving technologies.

The presentation of the biennial OZTek Awards is a much-anticipated aspect of OZTek & the concluding Gala Awards Dinner.

2019 was no exception. Deserving winners were nominated by the diving public and this was the result!

Industry Achievement Award

David Strike was not able to receive his award on the night.


Industry Recognition Award

To acknowledge diving Industry members whose individual efforts have often had a far-reaching impact on the advancement and growth of diving.

Previous Recipients are:

  • Rob Cason
  • Dr Simon Mitchell
  • Richard Nicholls
  • Barry Hallett
  • Tony Davis
  • Barry Andrewartha
  • Terry Cummins
  • Col McKenzie
  • Jayne Jenkins
  • Richard Taylor
  • Warrick McDonald
  • Richard Evans
  • Jane Bowman
  • David Strike - 2019
Stephen Fordyce - Emerging Explorer

Stephen Fordyce - 2019 Emerging Explorer Award.
Photo: David Bilbow



Acknowledgement of an up-&-coming diver for their contribution to exploration, research or training in the spirit of team work and community.

Ryan Kaczkowski - 2019 Technical Diver of the Year

Ryan Kaczkowski - 2019 Technical Diver of the Year
Photo: David Bilbow


Technical Diver of The Year Award

For continued outstanding achievements in underwater exploration (includes elements of teamwork, mentoring and inspiration).

Previous Recipients are:

  • David Apperley
  • Paul Hosie
  • Trevor Jackson
  • Samir Alhafith
  • Craig Challen
  • Sandy Varin
  • Liam Allen
  • Lance Robb
  • Richard Harris
  • Ryan Kaczkowski - 2019
Matt Carter - Media Excellence Award

Matt Carter: 2019 Media Excellence Award.
Photo: David Bilbow


Media Excellence Award

For ongoing promotion of ocean awareness and the diving industry, technical or otherwise.

Note: This award is only given in outstanding circumstances

Previous Recipients are:

  • Michael Menduno
  • Jill Heinerth
  • Richard Vevers
  • Matt Carter - 2019
Valorie Taylor - Lifetime Achievement Award


Lifetime Achievement Award

An award which speaks for itself.

Previous Recipients are:

  • Valerie Taylor
Scott Willan - Outstanding Achievement Award

Scott Willan receives his 2017 Outstanding Achievement Award from John Dalla-Zuanna (left) Photo: Chris Millbern

Watch this space for details on the 2022 OZTek Awards and how to vote.

Outstanding Achievement Award

To recognise deserving individuals whose achievements embody the spirit of diving adventure, exploration and teamwork.

Previous Recipients are:

  • Kevin Denlay
  • Ron Allum
  • Andrew Wight
  • Chris Brown
  • Dr Mark Spencer
  • Dr Richard Harris
  • Steve Trewavas
  • Mervyn Maher
  • Pete Mesley
  • John Dalla-Zuanna
  • Scott Willan - 2017